Check your documents status

HRD/GAD/HOME | MEA/Apostille | Embassy/Consulate

Apostille Countries | Esanad

Lamination Removal | Visa Stamping


As per the emigration act 1983, Certain categories of Indian passport holders should require to obtain emigration clearance from the protector of emigrant (POE) for going some countries. As per the emigration act emigration means leaving of India by an Indian citizen by the intent of employment in other country

All Indian passports are divided in to 2 categories

Emigration check required (ECR)

Emigration check not required in passport. (ECNR)

Passport which has been issued before 2007 no notation in the passport means ECR ie. emigration required. For the passport issued in or after january 2007,no notation in passport means emigration not required. If required on that there will be endorsement in the passport.

As per new guidelines, a "Blank" page 2 on passport is deemed to have been ECNR endorsed..If the status is "Emigration Check Required (ECR)", it will be specifically mentioned in passport by means of an endorsement.

There are 17 countries which emigration check is compulsory.

  • Afganistan
  • Baharain
  • Brunei
  • Kuwait
  • Indonesia
  • Iraq (banned)
  • Jordan
  • Lebanon
  • libya
  • Oman
  • Qatar
  • Sudan
  • Syria
  • Saudi Arabia
  • Thailand
  • Uae
  • yemen